Book your course today
Call 0844 800 0209

OPITO Rigger Competence Stage 3 & 4

 2 days £550.00 + VAT

Book your course today

Call 0844 800 0209 or email us

Course details

Stage Three and Four are assessment only courses with no training element whatsoever.

The aims and objectives of the OPITO Stage 3 & 4 competence assessment are to establish that the candidate has the required underpinning knowledge, understanding and practical skills to fulfill the role of the Rigger safely and effectively.

Stage 3 specifies the assessment process and criteria for the candidate to demonstrate competence in the Rigger role. Stage 3 is aimed at personnel that wish to become OPITO-certified competent riggers - having successfully completed the OPITO Stages 1 & 2 Rigger Training and Workplace Experience, OR possess sufficient and relevant work experience to be eligible directly for the OPITO Stage 3 assessment. Candidates must possess a valid OPITO approved Stage 1 Rigger Training Certificate and a fully completed OPITO Stage 2 Logbook OR a formal letter from the candidate’s employer or senior employer representative stating that the candidate has met the equivalent of the OPITO Stage 2 lifting experience.

Stage 4 specifies the re-assessment criteria for riggers, who wish to maintain their OPITO competence certification. Stage 4 is aimed at personnel that wish to renew their OPITO Rigger Stage 3 or 4 competent certificate (two year validity for each certificate). Candidates for Stage 4 Reassessment require a valid OPITO-approved Stage 3 or 4 Rigger Certificate.

The Stage 3 & 4 Competence Course provides a combination of practical assessment and theory test. The practical assessment requires the candidate to lead two lifting operations and to assist with two lifting operations. These lifting operations will be conducted on our large, state of the art Rigging Frame within the AIS Rigging and Lifting Centre of Excellence. The Knowledge Assessment comprises a ‘closed book’ written test of which the pass mark is 80%. The Stage 3 certificate will only be awarded if the candidate successfully completes both the Knowledge Assessment and the Practical Assessment.